The first phase of developing The Estuary Plan was taken forward by the Alde and Ore Estuary Partnership, May 2012 to November 2019. The Alde and Ore Community Partnership is now taking forward the community’s  role in the implementation of the plan. Details of the former AOEP and the continuing  Alde and Ore Estuary Trust, which is the fund raising body for The Estuary Plan, are given below.

Twelve volunteer members make up this partnership and offer a wide range of skills including financier, farming, company businessman, chemical industry manager, lawyer, agriculturalist, ecologist, cardiologist, and police commander. The Partnership is advised by the Environment Agency, Natural England and Suffolk County and District Councils.

Sir Edward Greenwell Bt., – Chairman, Farmer Nominee
Tim Beach – Deputy Chairman and Snape Parish Council Nominee
Guy Heald – Finance and Business (Chairman of The Estuary Trust)
Jane Marson – Landowner Nominee
Alison Andrews – A&O Association Nominee (also representing the interests of recreational estuary users)
Harry Young – Business Representative
Diane Ling  – Ecological Representative
Peter Palmer – Aldeburgh Town Council Nominee
David McGinity – Butley Parish Council Nominee
Colin Chamberlain – Iken Parish Council
Brian Johnson – Bawdsey Parish Council Nominee
Peter Smith – Orford and Gedgrave Parish Council Nominee

Partnership Secretary – Amanda Bettinson
Email:  Send Mail


Giles Bloomfield – East Suffolk Internal Drainage Board
David Kemp – Environment Agency

Emma Hay – Natural England

Bill Parker – Suffolk Coastal District Council

Andrew Hawes – Engineering Consultant
The Alde and Ore Estuary Trust (The Trust) was established in December 2013 and is a registered as a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO) with the Charity Commission (No 1155115).   The Trust was set up by the Partnership to facilitate fund raising for flood defences in the Alde and Ore Estuary. Its charitable status enables donors to take advantage of various tax exemptions and reliefs available where gifts are made to a charity.  


Guy Heald
* (Chairman)
Elizabeth Stanton
Professor Jane Maxim (Funding Group Chair)
Brian Johnson*
*These Trustees are nominated by the Partnership, the remainder are elected.


Partnership meetings are open public meetings and anyone is welcome to sit in. 


***** THE NEXT MEETING *****

of the
Alde and Ore Community Partnership

Thursday 27 February at 18.30 in Orford Town Hall.


AOCP  minutes for circulation

2020.1.30 AOCP draft minutes for circulation

For further information
please contact
Alison Andrews,
Temporary Honorary Secretary on  

Subscribe to the SOS Estuary Newsletter

* indicates required